Browse > Home / Hacks and Mods / Who Else Has Received This Fishing Email Claiming To Be From Gmail?

| Subcribe via RSS

Who Else Has Received This Fishing Email Claiming To Be From Gmail?

March 15th, 2009 Posted in Hacks and Mods

fake-gmail-email

This special thing about this one is that the spam filters let it through. Usually those spam filters catch just about everything. I’m impressed.

It almost looks official. All of the links in the email go to their correct addresses at Google, except of course for the “Click Here to update your account” one.

faketyfakegmailIt goes to some website at http://accupdategmail.110mb.com, which is a pretty good spoof of the gmail login page. Except that the space counter doesn’t go up, and it’s only at 2 gigs instead of the 7+ that we have here in 2009. If you’re fool enough to log in, the page captures your account name and password and dumps you back to the real login page.

Needless to say, I wrote a nasty message in the “password” section.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • TwitThis
  • LinkedIn
  • Tumblr
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
  • Technorati
  • Mixx
  • Yahoo! Buzz

Related posts:

  1. Gmail adds Multiple Inboxes Yesterday, Gmail intruduced a new feature in the labs: Multiple...

2 Responses to “Who Else Has Received This Fishing Email Claiming To Be From Gmail?”

  1. Aucobalt Says:

    I got it on Friday… it was a pretty well written email. It almost had me fooled… but I wasn’t about to click on a link in that email that wasn’t even on google’s domain.


  2. Matt Katz Says:

    Me. I also almost clicked on it.


Leave a Reply